How to Stop Sharing Location on iPhone Without Someone Knowing

The ability to have your iPhone share your current location with other people can be a very useful feature. Families and friends can be kept aware of the whereabouts of others in their party without having to contact them individually. Being able to locate someone just because they have an iPhone in their pocket would have sounded like science fiction 25 years ago.

Under certain circumstances, you may want to stop broadcasting your location to others. After all, sharing location information does infringe on your privacy. For a wide variety of reasons, you might want to temporarily or permanently stop sharing location information without anyone knowing you have made the change. To do that, you need to know how to turn off location sharing without notifying anyone.

Can You Stop Sharing Location on iPhone without Someone Knowing?

Yes, you can stop sharing your location on an iPhone without the other person knowing you have modified your settings. They won’t know until they look in the People section of the Apple Find My app. When your name doesn’t appear in their list, it becomes apparent that you have stopped sharing location. But without sending any notification, it requires the person you were sharing information with to take action and check their app to determine you have stopped broadcasting your location.

How to Turn Off Location without the Other Person Knowing

Multiple techniques can be used to stop sharing your location through your iPhone. We will show you how to stop sharing location without notification using five different methods. Some may be more appropriate for your situation and what you hope to achieve than others.

Method 1. Put your iPhone into Airplane Mode

When you put an iPhone into Airplane Mode, it turns off the device’s wireless signals like WiFi, Bluetooth, and mobile networking. The purpose of Airplane Mode is to enable iPhone users to access the non-wireless functionality of their phones safely during a flight when radio transmission is prohibited.

Turning off the wireless capabilities of an iPhone stops sharing your location with others. The following procedure shows you how to turn off the location without notifying by switching to Airplane Mode.

  1. Open Settings by tapping on its icon.
  2. Toggle on the slider switch next to Airplane Mode.

A potential drawback to employing this method is that you can no longer use any wireless connectivity. This may be more limiting than you want if all you are trying to do is stop sharing your location.

Method 2. Turn off Share My Location

You can choose the individuals with whom you share your location information. If you are already sharing your location with another person, here is how to stop sharing location without them knowing. This method allows you to continue sharing location information with others while restricting that data from a specific person.

  1. Open the Find My app.
  2. Navigate to the People section.
  3. Select and tap on the person you want to remove from location sharing.
  4. Find and tap on Stop Sharing My Location.
  5. Tap on Stop Sharing Location when prompted by the app.

The selected person will no longer be able to see your location and will not be notified of the change. However, if you reactivate location sharing with this individual, they will be notified, which will alert them that you hid this information from them at some point.

Method 3. Stop sharing location through the Find My App

You can turn off the Find My iPhone facility of your device, which will stop sharing your location information with friends, family, or colleagues. Here’s how to stop sharing location without them knowing.

  1. Open Settings by tapping its icon.
  2. Tap your name > Find My > Find My iPhone.
  3. Tap the green bar to toggle off this iPhone feature.

This is a drastic move that immediately stops sharing your location information. With this method, you eliminate the potential for you to locate your iPhone if it gets lost.

Method 4. Change the location using an iPhone GPS spoofer

You can also use a third-party software tool known as an iPhone GPS spoofer to change the location you share with others. Tenorshare iAnyGo is such a software solution, and we will use it to demonstrate a simple method of hiding your real location.

How to Turn Off Location on iPhone with Tenorshare iAnyGo
  1. Download and install iAnyGo on your computer.
  2. Launch the app and select the Change Location mode to display a map.
  3. Connect the iPhone to your computer.
  4. Unlock the iPhone and click Enter to continue.
  5. Select the location on the map you want to use for your current location.
  6. Click the Start to Modify button.

Your iPhone will now display the new coordinates you selected as your actual location.

Also Read: Tenorshare iAnyGo Review

Method 5. Use another iPhone or iPad to change the location

Here’s how to turn off your location without someone knowing by using a second iOS device logged into the same Apple ID. This technique hides your actual location by broadcasting the location of a second device you are not carrying with you.

  1. Open Settings on the iPhone and go to your profile.
  2. Open the Find My app.
  3. Turn on the Share My Location function.
  4. On a second iPhone or iPad using the same Apple ID, open the Find My app.
  5. Tap the Me icon on the bottom right.
  6. Navigate and tap Use this iPhone as My Location. This replaces the original device that was sharing information. Tracking will now follow the location of the second iOS device.

FAQs

How do I share location information with others using my iPhone?

You can easily share location information by enabling the Share My Location switch in the Find My app on your iPhone. You can selectively add people who will be able to track your location.

Can I limit who has access to my location?

Yes, you can limit who has access to your location information. From the People section of the Find My app, delete any individuals with whom you don’t want to share location data.

What’s the best way to stop sharing location without others knowing?

This answer depends on what you want to do with your iPhone once you stop sharing location information. Putting the iPhone into Airplane Mode or turning off the Find My iPhone facility are quick ways to turn off location sharing but limit your device’s functionality.

Conclusion

In this article, we have demonstrated how to stop sharing location without notification using a variety of methods. Some of these techniques make it impossible for anyone to share your location while others allow you to control which individuals can access that information. While the ability to share location information can be very important, there are times when you may need to turn this feature off for some or all of your contacts. The methods we described enable you to control who can track your location through your iPhone.

Leave a Comment